Wahdah Islamiyyah Palu: on Contemporary Islamic Legal Issues In The Internet

  • Rusli Rusli Institut Agama Islam Negeri (IAIN) Palu
Keywords: Wahdah Islamiyah, Wahhabi theology, Islamic legal issues

Abstract

This paper deals with one of the Islamic organizations in Palu, Wahdah Islamiyah (Islamic Unity), in terms of theological and contemporary Islamic legal issues. The source of analysis is the website that Wahdah Islamiyah runs online. The paper concludes that Wahdah Islamiyah is influenced by the relatively strict theology of Wahhābism in religiosity and morality. Therefore, in legal issues, Wahdah Islamiyah embraced and accommodated relatively conservative views with various issues in relation to theological issues and Islamic legal issues such as women’s, social, economic, and political issues. From these views, it can be argued that their aim is to preserve the identity by constructing the concepts of shirk and bidʻah and reinforcing the relatively rigid juristic tradition to become the citadel from the attacks of doctrine seeking to demolish the building of Salafism.

References

‘Izzah ‘Alī ‘Aṭiyyah, al-Bid‘ah: Taḥdīduhā wa Mawqif al-Islām minhā (Beirut: Dār al-Kitāb al-‘Arabī, 1980), 160.
Abū ‘Īsā Muḥammad ibn ‘Īsā ibn Sawrah al-Turmudhī, al-Jāmi‘ al-Ṣaḥīḥ, taḥqīq: Ibrāhīm ‘Aṭwah ‘Iwad, vol 5, “bāb mā jā’a fī al-akhdh bi al-sunnah wa ijtināb al-bid‘ah,” hadith no. 2676 (Mesir: Maṭba‘ah Muṣṭafā al-Bābī al-Ḥalabī, 1975).
Abū Dāwūd Sulaymān ibn al-Ash’ath al-Sijistānī, Ta‘līq: ‘Izzah ‘Ubayd al-Da‘ās dan ‘Ādil al-Sayyid, Sunan Abī Dāwūd, Jilid 5, “kitāb al-Sunnah,” hadith no. 4607 (Beirut: Dār Ibn Ḥazm, 1997).
Aḥmad ibn Ḥanbal, al-Musnad, taḥqīq dan takhrīj: Shu’ayb al-Arna’ūṭ, Muḥammad Na‘īm al-‘Ariqsūsī, dan Ibrāhīm al-Zaybaq, dan ‘Ādil Murshid, vol 28, hadith no. 17145 (Beirut: Mu’asasah al-Risālah, 1997).
Eva F. Nisa, “Cadari of Wahdah Islamiyah: Women as Dedicated Actors of Ultra-conservatism,” Intersections: Gender & Sexuality in Asia & the Pacific, Issue 30 (Nov 2012).
Pierre Bourdieu, Logic of Practice, Translated by Richard Nice (Stanford: Stanford University Press, 1990.
Sa‘īd ibn Nāṣir al-Ghāmidī, Ḥaqīqah al-Bid‘ah wa Aḥkāmuhā, Vol 1 (Riyāḍ: Maktabah al-Rushd, tt), 263.
Administrator, Wahdah Islamiyah Palu, “Syirik dalam Uluhiyah,” in http://wahdahpalu.or.id/syirik-dalam-uluhiyyah/ (Access: 30 September 2014).
Administrator Wahdah Islamiyah Palu, “Diantara Sarana Kesyirikan adalah Pengagungan terhadap Kubur,” in http://wahdahpalu.or.id/diantara-sarana-kesyirikan-adalah-pengagungan-terhadap-kubur/ (Accses: 30 September 2014).
Adminstrator Wahdah Islamiyah Palu, “Sikap Ghuluw dalam Memuji Orang-Orang Shalih,” in http://wahdahpalu.or.id/sikap-ghuluw-dalam-memuji-orang-orang-shalih/(Access: 30 September 2014).
Adminstrator Wahdah Islamiyah Palu, “Syirik dalam Rububiyah,” in http://wahdahpalu.or.id/syirik-dalam-rububiyyah/ (Access: 30 September 2014).
Adminstrator Wahdah Islamiyah Palu, “Menggantungkan Jimat (Tamīmah),” in http://wahdahpalu.or.id/menggantungkan-jimat-tamimah/ (Access: 2 Oktober 2014).
Adminstrator Wahdah Islamiyah Palu, “Suara Wanita bukan Aurat,” in http://wahdahpalu.or.id/suara-wanita-bukan-aurat/ (Access: 30 September 2014).
Adminstrator Wahdah Islamiyah Palu, “Menjaga Kehormatan dengan Hijab,” in http://wahdahpalu.or.id/menjaga-kehormatan-dengan-hijab/ (Access: 30 September 2014).
Adminstrator Wahdah Islamiyah Palu, “Perkawinan Beda Agama,” in http://wahdahpalu.or.id/pernikahan-beda-agama/ (Access: 30 September 2014).
Administrator Wahdah Islamiyah, “Hukum Pluralisme, Liberalisme dan Sekularisme Agama,” in http://wahdahpalu.or.id/hukum-pluralisme-liberalisme-dan-sekularisme/ (Access: 30 September 2014).
Adminstrator Wahdah Islamiyah Palu, “Islam adalah Agama Perdamaian, Bukan Agama Terorisme,” in http://wahdahpalu.or.id/islam-adalah-agama-perdamaian-bukan-agama-terorisme/ (Access: 30 September 2014).
Adminstrator Wahdah Islamiyah Palu, “Wajib Taat kepada Pemerintah dalam Penetapan Ramadhan dan Hari Raya,” in http://wahdahpalu.or.id/wajib-taat-kepada-pemerintah-dalam-penetapan-ramadhan-dan-hari-raya/ (Access: 30 September 2014).
Adminstrator Wahdah Islamiyah Palu, “Penjelasan Dewan Syari’ah Wahdah Islamiyah tentang Pemilu,” in http://wahdahpalu.or.id/penjelasan-dewan-syariah-wahdah-islamiyah-tentang-pemilu/ (Access: 30 September 2014).
Published
2017-12-30
How to Cite
Rusli, R. (2017, December 30). Wahdah Islamiyyah Palu: on Contemporary Islamic Legal Issues In The Internet. HUNAFA: Jurnal Studia Islamika, 14(2), 233-251. https://doi.org/https://doi.org/10.24239/jsi.v14i2.489.233-251
Section
Articles